Meet Our Board Members

MarvinEmbryMarvin Embry

Marvin Embry was appointed to the ACUA Board of Commissioners in 1995 and has served as Chairman since March 2011. Mr. Embry is a graduate of the University of Kentucky where he received a Bachelor of Science in Commerce. He previously served as president of the Atlantic City and Atlantic County Board of Realtors as well as the District Vice President of the New Jersey Association of Realtors. Mr. Embry is a past director of the Title Company of Jersey and member of numerous professional organizations. He was appointed to the District One Ethics Committee by former New Jersey Governor Christine Whitman in 1995 as well as the Atlantic County Board of Taxation in 1998. In 2004, former Kentucky Governor Ernie Fletcher commissioned Mr. Embry as a Kentucky Colonel. Mr. Embry operated Embry Real Estate Agency in Northfield and was honored by the National Association of Realtors with a Distinguished Realtor Emeritus designation in 2010 for his long term commitment to the organization. Mr. Embry spent many years serving others through his involvement with the Lions Club where he was named Lion of the Year. Mr. Embry and his wife reside in Linwood.

FredAkersFred Akers

Fred Akers was appointed to the ACUA Board of Commissioners in March 2011. Fred Akers is a graduate of Drexel University where he received a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. He is currently the River Administrator for the Greater Egg Harbor Council and Watershed Association, a position he has held since 2002. In this and other civic and environmental positions, Mr. Akers has worked to promote healthy river systems through research, education and by increasing public awareness of the unique and valuable natural resources in our area. Mr. Akers serves on the Atlantic County Groundwater Advisory Committee, the Buena Vista Township Planning Board, the Buena Vista Township Environmental Commission, the Wildlife Conservation Corps, and Citizens United to protect the Maurice River and its Tributaries. He is a past member of advisory committees to the NJ Division of Watershed Management. Mr. Akers is an Eagle Scout and an environmental writer. He resides in Newtonville with his wife Julie. 

Andrew G. Berenato III  

Andrew G. Berenato III was appointed to the ACUA Board of Commissioners in February 2012. Mr. Berenato is a graduate of Villanova University’s College of Commerce and Finance, and has served as an estimator for his family’s business, M.L. Ruberton Construction Company, since June 2008. Prior to this, he served in various capacities within the company since 2006. Mr. Berenato’s volunteer experience includes having participated in an after-school learning program in Philadelphia, sled hockey for disabled children and a litter abatement program in Camden. He currently resides in Hammonton.

MichaelEppsMichael Epps

Michael Epps was appointed to the ACUA Board of Commissioners in 1998 and currently serves as Vice Chairman. Mr. Epps is a graduate of the University of Maryland where he received a Bachelor of Science in Journalism and Howard University School of Law in Washington, D.C. where he received his Juris Doctorate. Mr. Epps is currently the principal at The Epps Law Firm in Galloway Township. He also serves as a member of the Richard Stockton College Foundation Board. Mr. Epps previously served as a Commissioner on the New Jersey Casino Control Commission for more than nine years, having been appointed in 2001. Mr. Epps is a member of both the New Jersey and Pennsylvania State Bars and previously served as Counsel to the Atlantic City School Board. Mr. Epps and his wife Gina reside in Galloway Township and have one child.


PaulRosenbergPaul A. Rosenberg

Paul A. Rosenberg was appointed to the ACUA Board of Commissioners in February 2015. Mr. Rosenberg is the third generation President of the Atlantic City Yellow Cab Company, a position he has held since 2005. As an industry leader, he has served on the Board of Directors of the International Taxicab Limousine & Paratransit Association, the Limousine Association of New Jersey, the Governor's Transportation Advisory Council and as President of the New Jersey Taxicab Association. Mr. Rosenberg has served as Vice-Chair of the Egg Harbor Township Planning Board since 2011 and sits on the Egg Harbor Township Environmental Commission. Mr. Rosenberg’s volunteer experience includes serving as a board member and treasurer for Atlantic County Crime Stoppers Foundation since 2007 and participating as a member of the Chelsea Neighborhood Association since 2008. Mr. Rosenberg is also an active member and past chairman of the Atlantic County Young Republicans as well as the Egg Harbor Township United Republican Club where he has held the positions of Treasurer, Second Vice President, First Vice President and now as President.  In addition to his civic engagement at the local level, Mr. Rosenberg held staff positions in both the United States House of Representatives in the office of Congressman LoBiondo from 2002 to 2005 and for the New Jersey General Assembly in the offices of Assemblymen Frank Blee, Kenneth LeFevre and Senator William Gormley from 1999 to 2001. A graduate of Stockton College, Mr. Rosenberg holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science. He resides in Egg Harbor Township.

Peter Sarkos 

Peter Sarkos was appointed to the ACUA Board of Commissioners in January 2010. He is a graduate of Montclair State College and Seton Hall Law School where he received his Juris Doctorate. Mr. Sarkos is a partner in the Atlantic City office of Fox Rothschild LLP, where he serves as Administrative Chair for Litigation. Mr. Sarkos focuses on litigation of complex commercial transactions, estate and business related matters. In addition to his involvement in professional associations, he is a Superior Court Arbitrator, President of the Chief Arthur Brown Scholarship Foundation, a Judge for the Vincent Hannemann Inns of Court Mock Trial Competition and a volunteer for the Muscular Dystrophy Foundation.

Dennis Levinson 

Dennis Levinson is currently serving his third term as Atlantic County Executive. He was first elected to the Atlantic County Board of Chosen Freeholders in 1986 and served five terms before becoming County Executive. He served as Vice Chairman of the Board of Freeholders in 1988, 1991, and 1992, and was elected Chairman of the Board in 1994, 1996, 1997, and 1998. Prior to his election to the Board of Freeholders, he served as a Councilman in the City of Northfield from 1982 to 1986. Mr. Levinson is a member of many professional and community organizations. Mr. Levinson resides in Linwood.


John E. Lyons 

John E. Lyons was appointed to the ACUA Board of Commissioners in July 2015. He is a graduate of Stockton University where he received a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science. Mr. Lyons is a Business Systems Planning Manager leading IT support efforts for the over 2,000 employees of the IRS's Taxpayer Advocate Service. Mr. Lyons has served as a volunteer firefighter in Hammonton since 2003. He also serves as Vice President on the Hammonton Board of Education, where he began his board service as the youngest elected official in the history of the town at the age of 23.  Mr. Lyons resides in Hammonton with his wife and daughter. 

Search Our Directory

© ACUA 2018 All Rights Reserved.